Members of the Tribunal

The Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal is made up of a chairperson and up to 5 other members appointed by the Minister of Justice.

The chairperson must be a barrister or solicitor with at least 7 years’ legal experience. One member must be a licensed real estate agent. One of the members is also designated by the Minister as the deputy chairperson of the Authority.

The Honourable PJ Andrews CNZM (Chairperson)

Ms Andrews was a litigation partner, then consultant, at Kensington Swan in Wellington until June 2006, during which time she was also a member of the Refugee Status Appeal Authority (now the Immigration & Protection Tribunal) for a period of three years. Ms Andrews was appointed as a Judge of the High Court at Auckland in June 2006, and served until her retirement in September 2015. During her time in legal practice Ms Andrews was a member of the Committee of the Wellington District Law Society, and Treasurer then Vice-President of the Society.

Ms Andrews was a made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in January 2016.

Jeremy Doogue (Deputy Chairperson)

Jeremy Doogue is  a graduate of the University of Auckland law school. His working background is that of a litigation lawyer. He was a partner in the Hamilton law firm of McCaw Lewis Chapman  before commencing practice on his own account in 1987. In 1996 he was appointed a District Court Judge and in 2005 was sworn in as an Associate High Court Judge, a position he held until 2017. He is the deputy-chair of the Tribunal and is based on Auckland.

Garry Denley, JP, FREINZ

Mr Denley is currently with Lochores Real Estate Ltd on Auckland’s North Shore. He was made a Fellow of the REINZ in 1989 and in 1991 was appointed the REINZ’s Executive Officer for membership services, responsible for licensing, rules and membership services. He was an elected REINZ National Councillor from 1997 to 2007, chairing the Technology, Rules, Education and Agreements sub-committees during that time. He was also the REINZ representative on the Auckland District Law Society Forms sub-committee dealing with joint property agreements as a Councillor.

Catherine Sandelin, LLB

Ms Sandelin graduated from Auckland University in 1987 with an LLB. She joined Rudd Watts and Stone as a solicitor before becoming a senior associate at Simpson Grierson. After tutoring the Auckland District Law Society's Legal Professionals training course, she practised as a Barrister sole specialising in commercial and property related disputes. Ms Sandelin has been involved in property construction project management, and is also a Director of a clothing design, manufacturing and import company.

Neil O'Connor, AREINZ

Mr O'Connor currently owns and operates Property Management New Zealand that service the greater Auckland area. He also currently consults to Ray White, Pure Realty Ltd in Royal Oak assisting with recruiting, training and all AML Compliance. He entered real estate in 1986 and became an AREINZ in 1995. Throughout this time he has both owned and managed offices with up to 35 staff under several of the main franchise groups in New Zealand. Mr O'Connor is also the past Chair of the Papakura Business Assn and was on the Executive Committee for four years.

Fiona Mathieson, LLB, Notary Public, PG, DIP BUS, MBA

Ms Mathieson graduated from Auckland University with a LLB in 1983. She became a Notory Public in 1999 and is a member of the New Zealand Society of Notaries. She returned to Auckland University to complete a Graduate Diploma of Business (Admin) in 2003 and MBA in 2009. She is currently a partner at Boyle Mathieson and practices in the property / commercial area.